Thread: Newbie Questions

Newbie Questions

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to COLLADA, but I like what I've seen so far. Great job!

I just had a few initial questions:

1. In regards to geometry, I noticed that you can specify vertex attributes (i.e. normals, color, etc), but is it possible to also specify attributes on a per edge, or per primitive basis?

2. Is it possible to instance a library definition (i.e. <geometry>, <camera>, <light>, etc.) without referring to its id? If not, then how can you instance a definition with no id (since the id attribute is not required)?

3. For the COLLADA DOM, I saw this limitation in the release notes:
    "You cannot build and use the 1.3.1 and 1.4 versions of the DOM simultaneously"
    Are there any plans to remove/resolve this limitation in future releases of the COLLADA DOM?
    (i.e. have a DOM library that can work with different versions of the COLLADA schema)

Thanks!

--Rob

Re: Newbie Questions

Quote Originally Posted by rvinluan
    I'm a newbie to COLLADA, but I like what I've seen so far. Great job!
    On behalf of all the partners who have designed COLLADA... Thanks!
    1. In regards to geometry, I noticed that you can specify vertex attributes (i.e. normals, color, etc), but is it possible to also specify attributes on a per edge, or per primitive basis?
    COLLADA geometry is assembled from streams of vertex attributes by primitives. There is no edge representation built-in but you can add edge identifiers as a vertex attribute. Additional edge meta data can be stored as <extra> elements.
    2. Is it possible to instance a library definition (i.e. <geometry>, <camera>, <light>, etc.) without referring to its id? If not, then how can you instance a definition with no id (since the id attribute is not required)?