Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: error in MaxScript of Collada exporter ?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Posts
    3

    error in MaxScript of Collada exporter ?

    Hi,

    I get the following error when I run the MaxScript exporter under MAX 7:
    'unknown properties: count undefined' on row 3529.

    Anybody an idea ?

    Kind regards,

    Chris
    ---
    Keep IT Simple Software
    Van Alphenstraat 12
    7514 DD Enschede

    W: http://www.keepitsimple.nl
    E: mailto:info@keepitsimple.nl
    T: +31 53 4356687

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Posts
    3
    Ok, the problem has been temporarily fixed by one of our artists. If anyone is interested: it is related to the difference in date formats -> "/" instead of "-".

    If someone from Autodesk could fix this permanently?

    NB: I don't know if the folks from Autodesk tried exporting a Utah Teapot from MAX and imported it again in MAX ? It seems that the exporter (or the importer) forgets some vertices, you get a hole in the lid of the teapot.

    Kind regards,

    Chris
    ---
    Keep IT Simple Software
    Van Alphenstraat 12
    7514 DD Enschede

    W: http://www.keepitsimple.nl
    E: mailto:info@keepitsimple.nl
    T: +31 53 4356687

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Autodesk, San Francisco
    Posts
    19
    Hi Chris,

    Thanks for the fix. It will be soon integrated in the export script.
    Regarding the teapot, I will look into it and see what is happening.

    Stay tuned,
    Jean-Luc.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Posts
    3
    Hi Jean-Luc,

    If you could also add code like the following to enable the importer/exporter in one of the pulldown menu's. Our artists like to have it in the file menu:

    -[ begin ]------------------------------------------------------------------------
    macroScript ImportCollada
    buttonText:"Import from Collada"
    category:"Collada"
    tooltip:"Import from Collada"
    silentErrors:true
    (
    -[ end ]---------------------------------------------------------------------------
    CreateDialog ImportCollada width:150 height:200
    )
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Kind regards,

    Chris
    ---
    Keep IT Simple Software
    Van Alphenstraat 12
    7514 DD Enschede

    W: http://www.keepitsimple.nl
    E: mailto:info@keepitsimple.nl
    T: +31 53 4356687

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2

    syntax error

    Hi, I just tried running the importer script from 5/28/05, and I get this error:

    "--Syntax error: at ),, expected ]
    --In line:
    valArray = [(strArray[1] as float),(strArray[2] as float),(strArray[3] as float),(strArray[4] as float)]

    I am using Max 5.1

    thanks

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    2

    exporter exception

    Also, when I run exporter, says:
    Maxscript FileIn Exception
    --Unknown property: "getinstances" in undefined
    my_instance_count = InstanceMgr.getinstances i &instances_of_this -- troll for instances, find out how many of this object (1==just this one)

    Using Max 5.1

    thanks.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    3
    Larpo, max collada exporter requieres at least max6 if i'm not mistaken. So it won't run with max5.
    Roman A.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Autodesk, San Francisco
    Posts
    19
    Hi Larpo,

    A couple of lines above the lines you were mentioning there is a comment about the unavailability of this method in Max 5.
    TO run it on Max 5, you can comment out the following lines in the exporter:
    Code :
    instances_of_this = #()  -- ...
    my_instance_count = InstanceMgr.getinstances i &instances_of_this -- ...
    if (my_instance_count > 1) then -- ...
    ( 
      if (i != instances_of_this[my_instance_count]) then -- ...
         continue -- ...
    )
    Consequently, the instanced geometry will be repeated for every occurence in the scene.

    Regarding the problem you have with the importer, I suggest you replace it by:
    Code :
    valArray = [(strArray[1] as float),(strArray[2] as float),(strArray[3] as float)]

    Thank you for your feedback,

    Jean-Luc.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •