Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Polygons in Collada having textures

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    7

    Polygons in Collada having textures

    Hi,-
    has anybody used polygons in collada with textures embedded in?
    The collada file is in a KMZ file.
    i cannot see polygons in Google Earth.
    any help is appreciated.
    best regards

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Foster City, CA
    Posts
    540
    For an example of how it's supposed to work, export a textured model from SketchUp to Google Earth kmz v4. That'll have a zipped kmz with the .dae and textures inside. One trick is that you're supposed to have a textures.txt file which maps the Collada texture references to the names of the texture files contained in the zip.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    7
    Hi,-
    Thanks for the reply.
    they are all there. i am suspecting using directx vs. opengl.
    but, what else can it be?
    thanks

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Foster City, CA
    Posts
    540
    I don't understand exactly what the problem is. So you have a kmz file with textures and Collada data that you created, and Google Earth doesn't render it properly? Where does the model come from?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    7
    yup, that is the problem, sthomas.
    if i can be provided a working example, i will fix my error
    which i dont think i have.
    it might be due to my video card etc.
    i just wanna confirm i have the correct code.
    thanks

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Foster City, CA
    Posts
    540
    I would do this:
    (1) Download Sketchup.
    (2) Make a model with textures and export to Google Earth 4 kmz.
    (3) Load the model in Google Earth and confirm that it shows up fine.
    (4) Open the kmz (it's just a zip file) and look at the Collada file inside. How is this file different from yours?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Foster City, CA
    Posts
    540
    Also, if you want to confirm that your model is correct, you can load it in Feeling Viewer or Collada RT and see if it's displayed correctly.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by sthomas
    Also, if you want to confirm that your model is correct, you can load it in Feeling Viewer or Collada RT and see if it's displayed correctly.
    hmm, yes i can do that which will take time. i will eventually have to do this because noone seems to have tried this before since i dont get any response from anyone who has experience on this.
    thanks

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Foster City, CA
    Posts
    540
    I've gotten textured Collada models into Google Earth just fine before. I used <triangles> though, not <polygons>.

    It shouldn't take you that long to check if your model is invalid. Do this:
    (1) Download the Collada coherency test from here.
    (2) Unzip it somewhere.
    (3) Run it on the command line like this: "coherencytest myModel.dae".

    The coherency test will report problems in your model.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    7
    triangles are fine.
    problem is with polygons
    thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •