Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Error when importing a model (updated)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11

    Error when importing a model (updated)

    I am importing a character into 3ds Max 9 64 bit and I get this error:

    While reading or writing a file the following notifications have been raised.
    -ERROR: Library not found: #blMilWom_v3_72712-skin
    -ERROR: Unable to parse xml/dae file

    here is what I found in the .dae file:

    <node id="blMilWom_v3_72712-skin_skinInstance" name="blMilWom_v3_72712-skin_skinInstance">
    <rotate sid="rotateX">1 0 0 0</rotate>
    <rotate sid="rotateY">0 1 0 0</rotate>
    <rotate sid="rotateZ">0 0 1 0</rotate>
    <instance_controller url="#blMilWom_v3_72712-skin">

    This blMilWom_v3_72712-skin is all over the place in it. Does anyone know what this error is or how I can fix it?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Foster City, CA
    Posts
    540
    Max is reporting that it can't find an element that's referenced in the document. There are two possible problems:

    (1) The element really isn't in the document. Open the document and search for this string (with the quotes): id="blMilWom_v3_72712-skin"

    If you don't find it, the document is probably wrong. It's likely a bug in the software that made the document. Report the bug.

    (2) The element is in the document. In this case there might be something wrong with the Max importer. Report the problem to Feeling Software.

    If you post the document somewhere, or zip it and email it to me at x@y.com*, I can help you further narrow it down.

    * x = sthomas314, y = gmail

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11
    Its the second one. I found blMilWom_v3_72712-skin 17 times in the document. I am sending it to you, tried to paste it in a text file but its over 25,000 pages long so I am trying to send you the .dae file which is 85mb (23mb zipped). Just let me know if you get it. Do you think its a texture file or is it some internal problem?

  4. #4
    Finding the controller id for 17 times doesn't mean that you have found its definition. As Steven said, you should find something like this:
    Code :
    <library_controllers>
    <controller id="blMilWom_v3_72712-skin">
    <skin/>
    </controller>
    </library_controllers>
    Maybe you have found its instances, not its definition.
    -Ehsan-

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11
    This?

    <library_controllers>
    <controller id="blMilWom_v3_72712-skin">
    <skin source="#blMilWom_v3_72712-morphList">
    <bind_shape_matrix>1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1</bind_shape_matrix>

    Sorry but I am not a programmer so I am in the dark on all of this. I am just interested in how I can fix this error and why its occurring.

  6. #6
    Also try to report this bug to the feelingsoftware forum:
    http://www.feelingsoftware.com/compo...rd,3.0/lang,en
    -Ehsan-

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Foster City, CA
    Posts
    540
    viathan, it looks like the element that ColladaMax says is missing is in fact in the document. So you should report the problem to Feeling Software, which I think you mentioned you already did. Unfortunately, I'm not sure of a good next step beyond that. A programmer needs to take a look at their code and figure out why it's not finding the element. Hopefully Feeling gets back to you.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11
    Thanks for the help everyone. Maybe its because I am using Max 64bit. I am using the Collada plug in that came with Max 9, not the one you download. I would think that if it came with Max 9 (64) it would work. If anyone stumbles across something let me know.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Foster City, CA
    Posts
    540
    I am using the Collada plug in that came with Max 9
    As I understand it (I could be mistaken), there are actually two Collada plugins for Max: the one developed by Feeling Software, and one from Autodesk that uses their FBX to Collada converter. You want the Feeling one. So actually, you might not even be using Feeling's code at all. In that case you would want to report the problem to Autodesk. You should try to avoid their FBX to Collada converter if you can... the Feeling one is much better from what I understand.

    If you want to find out which one you're using, take any model in Max and export it as a Collada model. Open up the file and look at the <authoring_tool> tag. If that doesn't say "ColladaMax", you're probably using Autodesk's plugin.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    11
    As I understand it (I could be mistaken), there are actually two Collada plugins for Max: the one developed by Feeling Software, and one from Autodesk that uses their FBX to Collada converter.
    I am using max 9 64 bit and from what I understand you cant install the plug in on 64. I am following a post on the Feeling software site. They say this:

    The installer is a 32-bit installer that only contains 32-bit binaries. If your max-8 is a 32-bit version running on 64-bit, then the installer will recognize it. However, if your max9 is a 64-bit binary, then the installer will not recognize it. Your only current option is to download the source files for ColladaMax and FCollada, and compile them in 64-bit.
    I dont know how to compile so I am waiting for someone to figure it out and maybe they can send me how they did it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •