Skip to main content

SYCL Webinar - December 2021

SYCL Webinar - December 2021 Banner
December 7, 2021
Online

SYCL is the royalty-free, cross-platform abstraction layer that enables code for heterogeneous processors to be written using standard ISO C++. The SYCL 2020 specification was launched in February 2021 and is being used by a growing number of developers and researchers to solve real-world problems across a diverse range of domains including HPC, automotive, and machine learning.

SYCL developers now have access to an increasing number of implementations, with vendors adding support for a diverse range of acceleration API back-ends in addition to OpenCL. In this webinar we aim to provide the HPC development community will have an opportunity to engage with the SYCL working group and implementors, to provide feedback and have your questions answered.

The webinar will start with the SYCL working Group chair sharing the latest updates on the API and eco-system. Our keynote presenter with then give a developers perspective on using SYCL across multiple applications and platforms. This will be followed by detailed updates from a wide range of implementors, before the floor is opened up for attendees to ask questions during our concluding "Ask the Experts" session.

The webinar will be technical in nature and is aimed at both existing SYCL users and HPC developers looking to hear about the very latest updates on the SYCL standard and it's supporting eco-system.

This online live event is FREE to attend and will use the Zoom Webinar platform. Registration is required and the event will follow the Khronos Conference Code of Conduct to provide a harassment-free experience for everyone.

Register Now

Agenda

Date: Tuesday December 7th
Start Time: 16:00 CET | 10:00 EST | 07:00 PST
Duration: Approx 2 hours

  • Introduction
    • Host: Tom Deakin, University of Bristol, Khronos SYCL Advisory Panel Chair and SYCL Outreach Officer
  • SYCL Fast Forward: An Update from the Khronos Working Group
    • Michael Wong, Codeplay and Khronos SYCL Working Group Chair
    • View abstractKhronos SYCL 2020, modern ISO C++ for all devices.
  • Keynote: A Developers Perspective on Using SYCL Across Multiple Applications and Platforms
    • Prof. Garth Wells, University of Cambridge
    • View abstractGarth Wells is the Hibbitt Professor of Solid Mechanics at University of Cambridge, Deputy Head of Department (Research) and Fellow of Jesus College. Before joining University of Cambridge in 2007, he was an Associate Professor at Delft University of Technology (TU Delft) in the Netherlands. Prior to joining the faculty at TU Delft, he was a postdoctoral scholar at Stanford University. He completed his PhD at TU Delft and undergraduate degree at The University of Western Australia.
  • ComputeCPP: SYCL 2020 with Address Space Inference
    • Peter Zuzek, Codeplay
    • View abstractComputeCpp is the first SYCL 1.2.1 conformant implementation and continues to evolve. This talk will present the current status of the SYCL 2020 implementation in ComputeCpp, including a brand new device compiler that performs address space inference and also enables newer C++ features.
  • neoSYCL
    • Hiroyuki Takizawa, Tohoku University
    • View abstractAbstract to follow.
  • Short Break
    • 5 minutes
  • OneAPI DPC++
    • James Brodman, Intel
    • View abstractAbstract to follow.
  • triSYCL
    • Ronan Keryell, Xilinx
    • View abstracttriSYCL is an experimental open-source SYCL implementation mainly used by Xilinx to target FPGA and CGRA with C++20.
  • hipSYCL
    • Aksel Alpay, University of Heidelberg
    • View abstracthipSYCL is a flexible SYCL implementation that is advancing rapidly. In this talk, we will discuss the current state of hipSYCL regarding feature and hardware support, different ways in which it can be utilized, and we will also outline future directions and developments that users can expect to be available soon.
  • Ask the Experts - An Open Q&A Session
    • Moderated by: Tom Deakin
    • Our panel of SYCL experts will be available to answer questions put to them by attendees using the live Zoom Webinar Q&A feature. Don’t hold back. This is your opportunity to ask your questions to the Khronos SYCL Working Group members and other industry experts.
    • Start Time: 17:35 CET | 11:35 EST | 08:35 PST
  • Webinar Closes
    • 18:00 CET | 12:00 EST | 09:00 PST

Register Now

Event Partner: IWOCL and SYCLcon 2021

Speakers

Host & Moderator: Tom Deakin
Host & Moderator: Tom Deakin
University of Bristol and SYCL Outreach Officer
Bio
Michael Wong
Michael Wong
Codeplay and SYCL Working Group Chair
Bio
Peter Žužek
Peter Žužek
Codeplay
Bio
Hiroyuki Takizawa
Hiroyuki Takizawa
Tohaku University
Bio
James Brodman
James Brodman
Intel
Ronan Keryell
Ronan Keryell
Xilinx
Bio
Aksel Alpay
Aksel Alpay
Heidelberg University
Bio
Garth Wells
Garth Wells
University of Cambridge
Bio



Conference Code of Conduct: The Khronos Group is dedicated to providing a harassment-free conference experience for everyone. Visit our Code of Conduct page to learn more.

Khronos videos, presentations, and upcoming events. Skip to the Footer