C Specification

The xrGetInputSourceLocalizedName function is defined as:

XrResult xrGetInputSourceLocalizedName(
    XrSession                                   session,
    const XrInputSourceLocalizedNameGetInfo*    getInfo,
    uint32_t                                    bufferCapacityInput,
    uint32_t*                                   bufferCountOutput,
    char*                                       buffer);


Parameter Descriptions
  • session is a handle to the XrSession associated with the action that reported this source.

  • getInfo is an XrInputSourceLocalizedNameGetInfo providing the query information.

  • bufferCapacityInput is the capacity of the buffer, or 0 to indicate a request to retrieve the required capacity.

  • bufferCountOutput is a pointer to the count of name characters written (including the terminating \0), or a pointer to the required capacity in the case that bufferCapacityInput is 0.

  • buffer is a pointer to an application-allocated buffer that will be filled with the source name. It can be NULL if bufferCapacityInput is 0.

  • See Buffer Size Parameters chapter for a detailed description of retrieving the required buffer size.


xrGetInputSourceLocalizedName returns a string for the input source in the current system locale.

If xrAttachSessionActionSets has not yet been called for the session, the runtime must return XR_ERROR_ACTIONSET_NOT_ATTACHED.

Valid Usage (Implicit)
  • session must be a valid XrSession handle

  • getInfo must be a pointer to a valid XrInputSourceLocalizedNameGetInfo structure

  • bufferCountOutput must be a pointer to a uint32_t value

  • If bufferCapacityInput is not 0, buffer must be a pointer to an array of bufferCapacityInput char values

Return Codes
On success, this command returns


On failure, this command returns









See Also

Document Notes

For more information, see the OpenXR Specification

This page is extracted from the OpenXR Specification. Fixes and changes should be made to the Specification, not directly.

Copyright (c) 2014-2021, The Khronos Group Inc.