Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: OpenCL without Nvidia or AMD?

  1. #1

    OpenCL without Nvidia or AMD?

    Is there a way to use just OpenCL, without downloading either SDK, just using the c++ specification files and how?

    Also, if this doesnt work, is it possible to program on the GPU heterogenously, so that i dont have to worry about what hardware they are using? What would I use?

    I have been trying to get something going for OpenCL for the past 4 days, and cant seem to find anything without downloading the NVidia SDK

  2. #2

    Re: OpenCL without Nvidia or AMD?

    Anyone?

  3. #3

    Re: OpenCL without Nvidia or AMD?

    Solved...The way is to just include the headers in a opencl/CL folder and link to the opencl folder when building. You also have to make sure that the latest dll is in your system, usually in system32

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1

    Re: OpenCL without Nvidia or AMD?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gamingdrake
    Solved...The way is to just include the headers in a opencl/CL folder and link to the opencl folder when building. You also have to make sure that the latest dll is in your system, usually in system32
    Hi Gamingdrake,
    I'm now in the same situation like you. Can you please specify exactly which dll I need and from where I can get those if these are missing?

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1

    Re: OpenCL without Nvidia or AMD?

    Solved...The way is to just include the headers in a opencl/CL folder and link to the opencl folder when building. You also have to make sure that the latest dll is in your system, usually in system32
    this is not correct, if you use a DLL it implies you are using an OpenCl implementation from a Vendor ( AMD,Nvidia , Intel or ...)

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    17

    Re: OpenCL without Nvidia or AMD?

    To be clear you can write programs around OpenCL without a driver but you CAN NOT compile the OpenCL code (.cl) files without an OpenCL compiler. This compiler is usually in the driver because the driver needs it at runtime (Except maybe with 1.2).

    If you just want to use the CPU AMD has an emulator that turns your OpeCL code into C but it isn't meant for performance only debugging. I see little reason to not just get the Intel or AMD CPU SDKs.

Similar Threads

  1. Accesing both Amd/nVidia OpenCL
    By matrem in forum OpenCL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 02:12 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-09-2009, 07:00 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •