Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: OpenCL .icd file

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2

    OpenCL .icd file

    As per the OpenCL documentation released by Khronos, the ICD loader scans for the vendor .icd file in the registry (on Windows) or in /etc/OpenCL/vendors/ directory (on Linux) to load the platform's dynamic library.

    My question is that in our HPC cluster, the compute nodes that have the NVIDIA GPUs do not have the .icd file in this path and hence the code samples do not work (clPlatformIDs return with the -1001 error). If I were to create the file manually in this path, the changes will be lost upon reboot. Is there a workaround this or is it necessary to have the file in this path?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    2

    Re: OpenCL .icd file

    Most of my searches seemed to indicate the action is predetermined and hardcoded to search in the registry or under /etc/OpenCL/vendors to enumerate the vendor. We have taken care of this in our init. script that runs on the head node that will be executed by the compute nodes on startup so the file can be added to the compute node.

Similar Threads

  1. What IS the OpenCL ICD?
    By Checkmate in forum OpenCL
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-17-2010, 04:13 PM
  2. using the OpenCL ICD
    By evanbaker in forum OpenCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-28-2009, 10:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •