Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: glDrawTex - each call = 1 new batch?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    4

    glDrawTex - each call = 1 new batch?

    Okey, I've got the right techincal terms I wanted to mean to say, so it is:
    Does glDrawTex create an entire new batch for each call to it, or just one for the entire frame?
    In other words: is glDrawTex CPU bound or GPU bound?

    Or: is my question implementation/device specific?

    Thanks, and sorry for the previous confusion.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    353
    Pretty much all questions on performance are implementation specific.

    But drawing lots of small rectangles with glDrawTex is likely CPU limited. In this case it is better to put all rectangles into one vertex array, use a texture atlas, and draw them all with one draw call.
    Georg Kolling, Imagination Technologies
    Please ask questions specific to PowerVR hardware or SDKs on the PowerVR Insider Forum
    DevTech@imgtec.com | http://www.powervrinsider.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    4
    Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Is it possible to batch a 2d portion of a grid?
    By Gamingdrake in forum OpenCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-06-2011, 03:12 PM
  2. Why does EGL call glGetIntegerv when I call wglSwapBuffer?
    By teriba in forum Cross API and window system integration
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-23-2009, 04:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •