Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Mouse Picking

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    10

    Mouse Picking

    I am implementing mouse picking in my 3D Chess App. Using Vincent and UG presently. I load my models into my world, and have a camera set up using UG's Lookat fn.
    I want to be able to translate screen coords into 3D coords. The way I see it, If I know where my camera eye is, and I know where I tapped on the screen (in approx x,y,z coords), I can trace using a line equation, doing a test between my traced line and the bounding boxes of my models.
    Will this work? If so, how do I get the homogeneous world coords from the x,y coords of the screen???

    Best Regards,
    Me

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    6

    Re: Mouse Picking

    I think you should implement the gluUnproject youself.

Similar Threads

  1. picking
    By gibubu in forum WebGL - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-02-2012, 07:34 AM
  2. Picking
    By JJcoling in forum Developers Coding:Beginner
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-2011, 10:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •