PDA

View Full Version : Invalid device error on second video card.



cymick
10-23-2012, 06:04 PM
I'm getting an invalid device error when I try to create my command queue using my second video card. I have two Radeon HD 5800 series video cards (crossfire is off) and I only get this error with the second card. The program runs just fine on the first. I've looked into the AMD control center on my pc (windows 7 operating system) and it says the second cards adapter is disabled. How do I correct this? If it's just a matter of enabling the card adapter how is that done? I've looked around a bit and haven't had any luck with this.

chippies
10-24-2012, 12:59 PM
First, check in Device Manager if the card is enabled, if not then enable it there. Additionally, you might need to extend your Windows desktop onto the second card - that does require connecting it to a display.

cymick
10-25-2012, 02:43 PM
I figured out the issue. I was selecting the device correctly but I wasn't passing the device id correctly to clCreateContext.